Samples

May 25, 2010


A taste of samples from my studio, these are very raw colors but the intent was not tonalities or combo of such, but technique.  I am satisfied with the knowledge acquired from these experiments, which provide a studier foundation even though I have just begun the climb.  I have a few more pieces with resist dyeing that I need to photograph but I am too excited as I want to move forward. I am currently working on a proposal for a contrast/ tension gallery showing, thus with my newly acquired knowledge, I will be able to finally add depth and a quality missing from my previous work. I suppose dyeing is after all more closely related to painting, which I enjoy the most, so painting on felted vessels is ecstasy and an adventure.  My skill as a fine crafter is sorely missing however, in all justification I am mainly passionate about light, tones, shades and hues.  I have two more vessels that are drying where utilized transference in the technique from silk to wool.

Resist Dyed

One Response to “Samples”

  1. degmouto Says:

    ” I am satisfied with the knowledge acquired from these experiments, which provide a studier foundation even though I have just begun the climb. I have a few more pieces with resist dyeing that I need to photograph but I am too excited as I want to move forward. I am currently working on a proposal for a contrast/ tension gallery showing, thus with my newly acquired knowledge, I will be able to finally add depth and a quality missing from my previous work. I suppose dyeing is after all more closely related to painting, which I enjoy the most, so painting on felted vessels is ecstasy and an adventure. My skill as a fine crafter is sorely missing however, in all justification I am mainly passionate about light, tones, shades and hues. I have two more vessels that are drying where utilized transference in the technique from silk to wool.”
    Where I have been able to read about this?


Leave a Reply

