Subtractive Painting

February 18, 2010


This painting was called encroaching darkness and the deep dark blue dribbles and oozed down the painting.  I as caked with layers of paint and it was definitely an over-worked work. I  place this painting into my sink, covered this painting with rubbing alcohol let it stand 5 minutes or so then scrubbed it a stiff brush and water.  I was thrilled at the resulting

Subtractive spirals

graffiti type colorings.I merely highlighted several of the concentric lines with gold paint using my index finger. The reflection of the lights do not show the subtle color tones.

Leave a Reply

