Felted Postcard

July 28, 2009


I created this felted post card for a juried competition in Arizona.  It is a turn from my usual abstract, contemporary flare but since the show is called, “Wished You Were Here”, I concluded a more representational image was in order.  I was so taken the first time I drove through the Painted Desert in Arizona because it was dusk and the setting sun made everything illuminate.  The colors were almost surreal and this was before I owned a digital camera. I allowed that memory to guide me in creation of this postcard.  If you have been following my blog at all, you will see how this is such a turn from my normal way of working but please do not get confused and believe I will continue in this venue.  I much prefer a more subtle interpretation.  After completing this postcard I immediately created a vessel called tequila sunrise (after the cocktail).  It is still drying consequently pics will have to follow.felt-postcardWeb The dimensions of this post card are the standard size 4 inches by 6 inches.  Wish me luck, it is being mailed today and entry is not a photograph but one must mail the postcard.  I have not done any mail art since 1992, so, am unsure if it will arrive safely.  This pic by the way is a scanned image not a photograph.

Leave a Reply

