Completing Experiment # 12

February 17, 2009


I like taking a perfectly nice piece of fiber and deconstruct it to develop a new definition for that fabric. On February 15, I began an experiment of layering colors and this  felting wa constructed pre the-electric-Sander-period. The spirals are on the back side. I cut, yes cut, into the felt just clipping the first layer of purple, exposing the changing green layer hiding below. I used 20 gauge brass wire to twist the sections. I debated whether to measure and evenly tie the the sections. Eyeballing won out. I had the wire laying in one direction but I prefer the irregularity. I believe this process has some definite potential for a nice large wall piece. Since the cutting or the destruction is a metaphor for the traumas in our lives, it seems more pertinent to have the cuts more irregular and varying lengths but then, it does not have to be literal. Measurement are 14 inches by 22 inches.

Experiment #12

Experiment #12

Leave a Reply

