Process Vs Product

January 19, 2009


I am more stimulated by the process of making art verses the end product.  Thus, I tend to create a vocabulary  i.e.  multiple works which I later incorporate into another medium or combine several together, or cut up for an end product. I have a few ideas I want to explore and develop but I need more mature skill set to execute. In the meantime,  this experiment was to   squared  the edges opposed to deckled edge, better blending of colored fibers to make new colors, and  a thin but densely felted fabric.  I feel I succeed on 2 of the 3. This piece is thin but is still not the density I desire.  The color blending is progressing nicely and the straight edges are beginning to keep their shape.  These could possibly be disected, stitched, bling added and made into cards or even stitched postcards.

Leave a Reply

