5 Red Spirals

December 30, 2007


12_30red.jpg

I used a regular cotton canvas as the foundation, lightly coated in gesso then liberally applied plaster (mixed with a composite adhesive), once dried several more coats of gesso and the canvas was prepped for paint. I wanted to see my paintings beyond a visual texture and make the viewer want to touch it. As we all know from elementary school, touching paintings is definitely off-limits. Okay so I am a bit of a tease but not my primary goal.  I utilized the crimson acrylic paint without the interference of any implements by applying directly, then highlighting with dollops of gold dabbed with a sea sponge. It is extremely retro, reminiscent of 1960’s, and even though not poured but the direct application is a revisit of Jackson Pollack. It can be argued that Pollack’s brush was a bucket or a container.

Progression with my study on the power of red in a non-academic matter, even though I have not made any conclusion or not even developed theories on the influence, control, and the authority of red on the human psychic. Many studies have been conducted on color theory and I do not wish to replicate that information but maybe I need to investigate it more closely before I continue in this venue.  One reason I chose this lesson is I have an intense aversion to red, and the challenge to create beauty from something I despise is a remote result of Dianne Arbus study of the unbecoming and highlighting it’s beauty. On the other hand, why do I have an aversion to red?  When I was in school a fellow student asked the professor what colors did she like. So astutely the professor responded, “All colors, it just depends what scenario they are playing”. It was a personal challenge using an aggressive, raw, cadaverous associative color red and make it into something pleasing, beautiful and something I can even appreciate. This stretch canvas is 16″ x 20″.

2 Responses to “5 Red Spirals”

  1. Teja Says:

    Hello,

    I LOVE this painting, it’s beauitful, I also love red! Red is sensual, passionate, powerful & the colour of blood (I mean as a life sustaining force, not something gory) anyway, you definitely achieved your objective in creating a wonderful tribute to red, in my opinion 🙂
    I wanted to ask you, I am just starting off on my own creative journey & am researching techniques to achieve the looks I like. I am a real beginner & was wondering if you wouldn’t mind explaining to me exactly what you meant by ‘I utilized the crimson acrylic paint without the interference of any implements by applying directly’ – ‘without the ‘interface’ of any ‘implements’? what interface & what implements exactly? & also what do you mean by ‘direct application’, what would indirect application be? I would be SO grateful if you could spare a few minutes to assist me along on my way to creative expression.. I’m a mum to 2 little ones & don’t have the option of persuing too many ‘art classes’ right now, I’m just winging it on my own in my little craft room.. 🙂
    I would love to hear from you with a few basic tips if you have the time.
    Thank you!

    Best,
    Teja Ruegg

    • Deb Seeger Says:

      Thank you for reading my blog. In this painting, I used my fingers in spreading it on the canvas. An implement can be any sort of tool from a paintbrush, a wade of cellophane, found objects, sponges, sea shells, or even pine needles. .These objects often leave their own marks and in this painting I wanted to be the sole creator not objects used to apply paint. So, even though my hands were implements, they were of my direct body and not an inanimate object. When I said direct application, i squeezed paint directly from the tube onto the canvas and sometimes mixed the color while it was on the canvas and old trick from oil painters but acrylic dries too quickly to usually employ this technique. I worked quickly
      Be well, enjoy paint and applying it.. Deb


Leave a Reply

