Cranbrook Fruit

July 21, 2007


A friend of mine was attending Cranbrook School of Design and I was green with envy. Happy for her, of course so I press my nose against the portal of her experience. I was growing tired of paint and the 5’ x 8’ pieces I had been creating and showing. She wrote to me about her exploration painting with the juice of various fruits, which was way out of the box even for Krissy. As I waiting anxiously for a post card or some sort of visual of her ideas, I began looking at fruit as a medium. citrus.jpg halfzested.jpg I happened u pon this citrus peeler, oranges, limes and grapefruits. I cut designs into the fruit then let the fruit dehydrate; of course they had to be rotated every other day so the interior juice would not flatten the fruit. At the end of 6 weeks, my masterpieces were completed. I never did anything with them except send some to her, after they sat in a box for 9 years. I moved to a new house and the insects loved these hardened hollow citrus creations. Within no time they became total powder. So the experiment with fruit was a short lived one but fun.

One Response to “Cranbrook Fruit”

  1. balm Says:

    awesome! the link to the group of fruit is broken. we love it! dannon


Leave a Reply

